Courtesy of David Allen,PDC Media Manager

DYSON PARODY caused one of the biggest upsets so far of the Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy knocking out number nine seed Jelle Klaasen 6-5 in Saturday’s second round at the Victoria Stadium.


The top Gibraltarian, who was cheered on from the off as the only one of the four home players to win past the opening day, raced into an early 3-1 lead, only for Klaasen to show his class by winning the next two legs to level the score at 3-3.


Parody landed his second maximum of the match to take leg seven, but Klaasen bounced straight back with a 14-dart leg to square matters again.


With the score evenly poised at four-all, Parody then raised the roof of the Victoria Stadium by holding his darts in leg nine to move within one leg of a place in the last 16 stage.


Klaasen wasn’t going to roll over though, winning leg ten to take the match into a decider, which saw the crowd really get behind their man – and Parody rewarded them by claiming a historic win and become the first Gibraltarian player to reach the last 16 stage on home soil.


Michael van Gerwen began his Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy defence with a 6-4 win over Nick Fullwell.


After Fullwell took the first leg of the match, van Gerwen looked to be cruising to victory by opening up a 5-2 margin, but Fullwell battled back, to the pleasure of the Gibraltarian crowd, winning legs eight and nine to close the score to 5-4.


But, with a place in the next round firmly within his sights, van Gerwen wrapped up the victory in the next on double 18 to set-up a third round tie against Mervyn King, who overcame Christian Kist 6-2 earlier on in the day.


World Champion Gary Anderson made light work of Alan Norris in his opening match at the Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy.


The Scot, who had the backing of the Gibraltar crowd, took an early advantage by winning the opening three legs, only for Norris to then close the gap with two of his own.


Anderson, though, denied his rival a chance to level in the sixth before taking out brilliant finishes of 161 and 114 in the next two legs to claim victory.


The result sees the Scot set-up a mouth-watering third round tie against 2014 Gibraltar Darts Trophy champion James Wade, who swept aside Justin Pipe 6-2.


There was no doubting the comeback of the second round, with Dave Chisnall coming from 5-2 down to edge out Steve West 6-5.


Chisnall started the match in style recording two ton-plus finishes in the opening three legs, but West wasn’t going to let the number six seed have it his own way, taking the next four legs – including a 12-darter and a 13-dart finish – to leave him with an average of 104 as he moved 5-2 up.


With West now only one leg away from a place in the last 16, it was Chisnall’s turn to rack up the legs, winning the next four on the bounce and claim a well-earned victory.


The result sees Chisnall set up a last 16 match against reigning World Grand Prix champion Robert Thornton, who won an all-Scottish affair against John Henderson 6-5.


Having won his maiden PDC title in Barnsley a week ago, Gerwyn Price was hoping to carry his form through to Gibraltar, but he was halted by a very confident Simon Whitlock.


It was the Welshman who took the opening leg, but that proved to be the final part he would play with Whitlock claiming six on the bounce to set up a last 16 clash against number two seed Peter Wright, who overcame an in-form Daryl Gurney 6-3.


Joe Murnan, a Players Championship winner in 2015, booked his place in the third round with a 6-4 defeat of former Gibraltar Darts Trophy finalist Terry Jenkins following a high-quality contest where both players averaged over 103.


Murnan enjoyed two 13-darters and a 110 finish as he shared the opening eight legs, which also featured legs of 11, 12 and 13 darts from Jenkins, but it was the Bolton ace who prevailed by taking out 106 to break throw and a 14-darter to seal the win.


It proved to be a good day for the remaining seeds in the tournament, with Mensur Suljovic proving too strong for Jermaine Wattimena, Kim Huybrechts coming from 4-0 down to beat Michael Rasztovits 6-4, Ian White seeing off Antonio Alcinas 6-5, Benito van de Pas cruising past Stephen Bunting 6-1 and Michael Smith winning his battle with Joe Cullen 6-4.


Reigning PDC Unicorn World Youth Champion progressed through to the third round without throwing a dart on Saturday following the withdrawal of Adrian Lewis, with the German youngster now set to take on Parody in the last 16.


The Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy concludes on Sunday, with the third round taking place in the afternoon session before the decisive evening session features the quarter-finals, semi-finals and final.


The Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy is available to watch worldwide for all http://www.LIVEPDC.TV Subscribers.


Live coverage with faster streams is also available at the following betting websites:

Bet365 (Worldwide) – http://www.bet365.com

Betfair (UK, Ireland, Spain & Denmark) – http://www.betfair.com

Tempobet (Worldwide) – http://www.tempobet700.com


Live Scores will be available at the PDC Live Scores website, http://live.dartsdata.com.


Fans attending the Gibraltar Darts Trophy can find out further information of activities to enjoy during their stay in Gibraltar, or discover more about the destination, through http://www.visitgibraltar.gi.


Peperami Gibraltar Darts Trophy

Saturday May 7

Afternoon Session

Robert Thornton 6-5 John Henderson

Mervyn King 6-2 Christian Kist

Simon Whitlock 6-1 Gerwyn Price

Joe Murnan 6-4 Terry Jenkins

Mensur Suljovic 6-2 Jermaine Wattimena

Dyson Parody 6-5 Jelle Klaasen

Ian White 6-5 Antonio Alcinas


Evening Session

Kim Huybrechts 6-4 Michael Rasztovits

James Wade 6-2 Justin Pipe

Benito van de Pas 6-1 Stephen Bunting

Gary Anderson 6-2 Alan Norris

Michael van Gerwen 6-4 Nick Fullwell

Dave Chisnall 6-5 Steve West

Peter Wright 6-3 Daryl Gurney

Michael Smith 6-4 Joe Cullen


NB: Max Hopp receives Bye in second round following withdrawal of Adrian Lewis.


Sunday May 8

Afternoon Session (1pm-5pm local time, 12pm-4pm BST)

Third Round

Michael van Gerwen v Mervyn King

Max Hopp v Dyson Parody

Kim Huybrechts v Benito van de Pas

James Wade v Gary Anderson

Peter Wright v Simon Whitlock

Ian White v Joe Murnan

Dave Chisnall v Robert Thornton

Michael Smith v Mensur Suljovic


Evening Session (7pm-11pm local time, 6pm-10pm BST)





All games are the best of 11 legs.




Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.